5 Stages In The Cycle Of Mental Illness

Mental illness can be a challenging thing to deal with, both for the person who is living with it and for their loved ones. One of the most difficult things about mental illness is that it often doesn’t follow a logical pattern – it can be up one day and down the next, or it can be relatively stable for months or even years at a time. This unpredictability can make it difficult for people to understand mental illness, and it can also make it difficult for people to get help.


One of the best ways to understand mental illness is to learn about the different stages that people go through when they are living with it. This way, you will be able to better understand what your loved one is going through and you will be better equipped to help them.

The cycle of mental illness usually goes like this:

1. Symptoms

The person experiences symptoms of the mental illness.

2. Impact

These symptoms cause problems in the person’s life, which may lead to them seeking help.

3. Treatment

The person receives treatment for their mental illness and starts to feel better.

4. Stable Period

The person’s mental health stays stable for a while, but eventually the symptoms start to come back.

5. Repeat

The person goes through the same process again – they experience symptoms, they have trouble dealing with them, they seek help, they get treatment, and so on.

To better understand mental illness, learn the different stages that people go through when they are living with it. As a result, you will also be better equipped to help them. Share on X

Need mental health support? For professional, confidential assistance, contact one of our partner agencies, like Family Service Bureau of Newark.

This cycle can be frustrating and demoralizing for both the person who is living with mental illness and their loved ones. Does this sound familiar to you?

However, it is important to remember that there is always hope. There are many treatments available for mental illness, and with time and patience most people can find relief from their symptoms.


In It Didn’t Start with You: How Inherited Family Trauma Shapes Who We Are and How to End the Cycle, the author says:

“The traumas we inherit or experience first-hand can not only create a legacy of distress, but also forge a legacy of strength and resilience that can be felt for generations to come.”

The book presents a transformative approach to resolving long standing difficulties that in many cases, traditional therapy, drugs, or other interventions have been unable to touch.

When you access available resources and gain understanding of the cycles of mental illness, you’re better equipped to help yourself or those you love to live healthily with mental illness. 

Discover Amazon’s most popular books on mental illness when you download our free ebook today.

Will you consider donating to the Greater Newark Holiday Fund? Your support helps our agency partners provide hope and healing to individuals and families during the season of greatest need. 

Leave a Reply 0 comments

Leave a Reply: